2010 Cross Country Team
2010 Cross Country Team
Title: Cross Country
Year Inducted: 2017
Transfer/Graduation Date: N/A

2010 California State Women’s Cross Country Team Champion

Elizabeth Arias
Roxanne Hector
Valerie Hycz
Aylin Mejia
Nadine Mulvany
Ayded Reyes
Tanya Valenzuela

Coach Dr. Duro Agbede’s team achieved athletic success rarely seen at any level of athletic competition. In winning the first state championship in any sport for Southwestern College, the women placed a second, fourth, fifth, sixth and 19th out of a total of 207 runners, compiling a monumental score of 36 total points. They are the only team in California Community College state history to have five runners all break 19 minutes for a 5K race.

This driven, talented, hard-working team of women set other records on their way to the state championship:

  • They won the Pacific Coast Conference Championship with a perfect score of 15 points by placing first, second, third, fourth and fifth overall.
  • They set another record at the Southern California Regional Cross Country Championships held at Mission Bay when they won the regional championship by placing second, third, fourth, sixth and seventh out of 194 total runners. Again, they scored another team best and made So Cal history with a new record of 22 total team points.

The Southwestern Women’s Cross Country Team remained undefeated and held the #1 position for the entire 2010 season, never losing to any community college team in the state of California. Because of their success, they were the only community college team invited to the UC Riverside Cross Country Invitational along with 24 universities representing some of the top cross country programs in the country. There they placed 11th overall.

The city of Chula Vista stepped in to honor these women by proclaiming Southwestern College Cross Country Day on March 23, 2011 for their outstanding performances and in recognition of the number transferring to universities on full scholarships.

Congratulations to the 2010 Women’s Cross Country Team for your unparalleled achievements as student athletes. It is a distinct honor to induct your team into the Southwestern College Athletic Hall of Fame, Class of 2017.