Bobby Lugo
Bobby Lugo
Title: Football
Year Inducted: 2008
Transfer/Graduation Date: 1995

Bobby Lugo graduated from Hilltop High School in 1992 where he was a three year letterman in football and baseball. A standout receiver, he was selected First Team All-League in football and First Team All CIF in 1991. In addition, he received his team’s Best Offensive Player Award in 1990 and 1991. He also was voted the Most Valuable Player Award in 1991.

Bobby attended Southwestern College from 1992 through 1993 and played football for two seasons under Head Coach Bill Kinney. “It didn’t matter if Bobby had guys hanging all over him, if you got the ball close, he always found a way to catch it,” said Head Coach Bill Kinney.

Bobby’s hard work and dedication paid off. In 1992 and 1993 he was selected to the All Mission Conference First Team and was also name First Team Junior College All American in 1993. Of his eight SWC all-time football records as a wide receiver, the following three reflect his incredible prowess on the football field and his immense popularity with his coaches- the most receptions in a game (18), season (90), and career (145).

Bobby attended Bethany College, Lindsborg, Kansas from 1995-1996, where he continued to play football, again earning his team’s Most Valuable Receiver Award and in 1996 First Team All-Conference.

Still loving the game, Bobby coached varsity football at Hilltop High School, his alma mater, from 1998 to 2000. He has also served as a youth volunteer Youth Pastor at Bethel Centro Familiar Church. He enjoys family life with his wife, Diana and daughter, Maria. He is currently employed as an electrician with Aardema Electric Company.

Bobby’s most outstanding memories of Southwestern College include “playing football on the most gorgeous field in Southern California” and “spending time with such wonderful coaches.”

Congratulations Bobby Lugo for you unparalleled achievements on the football field! It is a distinct honor to induct you into Southwestern College’s Athletic Hall of Fame, Class of 2008!